Call the Senate for 10 Hours Rest!

MARCH 14, 2016 - It is time to make a final push to get our 10 hours minimum rest and fatigue management is included in the FAA Reauthorization bill. Last week, Senators Thune (R-SD) and Nelson (D-FL) introduced the bipartisan FAA Reauthorization Act of 2016.

The Senate has included language on our rest, but it doesn’t go far enough. The proposed language means rest for Flight Attendants will be most often reduced to 9 hours. The language also leaves out a Fatigue Risk Management Plan (FMRP) that would actually address the issue of Flight Attendant fatigue. 

The entire affiliated labor community supports our call for more rest. Let’s keep this momentum going. We need you to call your Senator TODAY.

Sample Script:


"Hello, my name is _________ and I live in _________. I urge Senator ___________ to support 10 hours minimum rest – irreducible - and the inclusion of a Fatigue Risk Management Plan for Flight Attendants in the FAA Reauthorization Bill mark-up this Wednesday. The Senate needs to adopt the bipartisan language on rest and safety included in the House version of the bill. This is about safety, my health and equality. And it is essential to maintaining the world’s safest aviation system."

Check the list at the end of this update - if your Senator is listed your call is especially important. If your Senator is not listed, your call is still important for building momentum to get adequate rest and a Fatigue Risk Management Plan.

The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation will mark up their bill on March 16, the same day that hundreds of Flight Attendants will be attending the Rally for Rest. 

RSVP for the Rally for Rest

There is still time to RSVP and attend the Rally. You can be a part of history as Flight Attendants converge on the U.S. Capitol to tell Senators provide the rest that is so vital to our role as aviation’s first responders. Register now!

Senators to Call:

If your Senator is not listed, call the switchboard to connect with yours: (202) 224-3121.

Members of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation

State Senator Number
WA Maria Cantwell 202-224-3441
CT Richard Blumenthal 202-224-2823
FL Bill Nelson 202-224-5274
HI Brian Schatz 202-224-3934
MA Edward J. Markey 202-224-2742
MI Gary C. Peters 202-224-6221
MN Amy Klobuchar 202-224-3244
MO Claire McCaskill 202-224-6154
NJ Cory A. Booker 202-224-3224
NM Tom Udall 202-224-6621
WV Joe Manchin 202-224-3954
SD John Thune 202-224-2321
AK Dan Sullivan 202-224-3004
CO Cory Gardner 202-224-5941
FL Marco Rubio 202-224-3041
KS Jerry Moran 202-224-6521
MO Roy Blunt 202-224-5721
MS Roger F. Wicker 202-224-6253
MT Steve Daines 202-224-2651
NE Deb Fischer 202-224-6551
NH Kelly Ayotte 202-224-3324
NV Dean Heller 202-224-6244
TX Ted Cruz 202-224-5922
WI Ron Johnson 202-224-5323

News Desk

Latest News

See All »

Media Releases

See All »

Latest Tweets

Union Plus Benefits

union-plus.jpgUnion Plus Benefits for AFA-CWA Members!
AFA-CWA members are automatically eligible for the following Union Plus benefits and discounts.

More benefits »